Alvin Lucier: Music 109: Notes on Experimental Music (2012)

1 October 2014, dusan

“Composer and peformer Alvin Lucier brings clarity to the world of experimental music as he takes the reader through more than a hundred groundbreaking musical works, including those of Robert Ashley, John Cage, Charles Ives, Morton Feldman, Philip Glass, Pauline Oliveros, Steve Reich, Christian Wolff, and La Monte Young. Lucier explains in detail how each piece is made, unlocking secrets of the composers’ style and technique. The book as a whole charts the progress of American experimental music from the 1950s to the present, covering such topics as indeterminacy, electronics, and minimalism, as well as radical innovations in music for the piano, string quartet, and opera. Clear, approachable and lively, Music 109 is Lucier’s indispensable guide to late 20th-century composition.”

With a Foreword by Robert Ashley
Publisher Wesleyan University Press, 2012
ISBN 0819572977, 9780819572974
236 pages
via Sorin

Reviews: Richard Kade (Leonardo, 2013), Dave Mandl (LA Review of Books, 2013), Michael Waugh (Popular Music, 2013).


PDF, PDF (updated on 2017-11-25)
EPUB (added on 2017-11-25)

3 Responses to “Alvin Lucier: Music 109: Notes on Experimental Music (2012)”

  1. Daniel Wolf on October 3, 2014 2:31 pm

    Please remove those links to illegal downloads of Lucier’s book. The book is still in print, easy to obtain, and not overpriced.

  2. dusan on October 3, 2014 3:53 pm

    Perhaps it is worth more than that, and also not everyone can afford a credit card.

  3. Daniel Wolf on October 3, 2014 4:40 pm

    If they can’t afford a credit card, then they can certainly ask their library to order it or ask a friend with a credit card to do so. Not purchasing the book is not paying the author. The ebook only costs 8.64 Euros.

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind