John Cage: Silence: Lectures and Writings (1961–) [EN, HU, CZ, RU, CN]

2 May 2010, dusan

Silence is a collection of essays and lectures Cage wrote during the period from 1939 to 1961.

“In these lectures, scores, and writings, Cage tries, as he says, to find a way of writing that comes from ideas, is not about them, but that produces them. Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching.”

Publisher Wesleyan University Press, October 1961
ISBN 0819560286, 9780819560285
276 pages

Review: Virgil Thomson (New York Review of Books, 1970).


Silence: Lectures and Writings (English, 1961, updated on 2012-8-3)
Silence: Lectures and Writings (English, 1973, 43 MB, no OCR, added on 2018-11-4)
A csend: válogatott írások (Hungarian, partial, includes 7 essays, trans. Kata Weber, 1994, 28 MB, added on 2020-5-7)
Silence: přednášky a texty (Czech, trans. Jaroslav Šťastný, Radoslav Tejkal, and Matěj Kratochvíl, 2010, 6 MB, added on 2020-5-7)
Tishina: lektsii i stati (Russian, trans. Grigorij Durnovo, et al., 2012, 12 MB, added on 2020-5-7)
Chen mo: Wu shi zhou nian ji nian ban (Chinese, trans. Jingying Li, 2013, 65 MB, added on 2020-5-7)

2 Responses to “John Cage: Silence: Lectures and Writings (1961–) [EN, HU, CZ, RU, CN]”

  1. Punk Rock Reading List II « 68comeback special on May 27, 2010 6:57 pm

    […] imagine what the entire thing could do for you, if only there were someplace online where the entire thing was available for […]

  2. milena on October 14, 2014 3:30 am


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind