Michael Nyman: Experimental Music: Cage and Beyond, 2nd ed. (1974/1999)

24 October 2009, dusan

“Michael Nyman’s book is a first-hand account of experimental music from 1950 to 1970. First published in 1974, it has remained the classic text on a significant form of music making and composing which developed alongside, and partly in opposition to, the post-war modernist tradition of composers such as Boulez, Berio, or Stockhausen. The experimentalist par excellence was John Cage whose legendary 4’ 33’’ consists of four minutes and thirty three seconds of silence to be performed on any instrument. Such pieces have a conceptual rather than purely musical starting point and radically challenge conventional notions of the musical work. Nyman’s book traces the revolutionary attitudes that were developed towards concepts of time, space, sound, and composer/performer responsibility. It was within the experimental tradition that the seeds of musical minimalism were sown and the book contains reference to the early works of Reich, Riley, Young, and Glass.”

Second edition
Foreword by Brian Eno
Publisher Cambridge University Press, 1999
ISBN 0521653835, 9780521653831
196 pages


PDF (updated on 2012-11-4)

One Response to “Michael Nyman: Experimental Music: Cage and Beyond, 2nd ed. (1974/1999)”

  1. Nick on October 24, 2009 3:45 pm

    Probably one of the best (if not THE best) first-hand accounts of this period in experimental music.

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind